Summer Peach Cakes

Last Friday we had a busy morning out and about, catching up with Liam’s friends for a playdate.  He was on the go the whole two hours that we were out, so was understandably exhausted when we  got home.  Normally I’m lucky if he sleeps for an hour to an hour and a half hour during the day, but when he had been asleep for two hours, I decided to make the most of it and get some baking done!

There were two peaches sitting all alone in the fridge which I wanted to use before they turned bad (and I’d also paid $8 a kilo for them and couldn’t stand the thought of throwing them out).  It had felt like awhile since I’d made anything from my Donna Hay recipe books, so I looked through her Simple Essentials – Fruit for some ideas.  This recipe is based on ‘Summer Nectarine Cakes’ and I followed the ingredients, apart from substituting the nectarines for pears (you could use any summer stone fruit though), and using approx 1/4 cup of hazelnut meal as I didn’t quite have enough almond meal for the 1 cup required.  These little cakes we so light and tasted divine.  I also really liked the taste of the hazelnut meal, it gave them a really nice flavour.  These will definitely be going on the ‘make again’ list.

These are too cute!

These are too cute!

3 egg whites

1 cup almond meal (I used approximately 3/4 cup of almond meal and 1/4 cup of hazelnut meal)

1/2 cup icing sugar, sifted

1/4 cup self raising flour

50g melted butter

1 tablespoon finely grated lemon rind

1 large nectarine, halved and thinly sliced (I used 2 medium sized peaches)

* Preheat oven to 180 degrees

* Place egg whites, almond meal, sugar, flour, butter and lemon rind in a bowl and mix to combine.

*Spoon 1 tablespoon of the mixture into 12 lightly greased, 1/4 cup capacity patty tins and top with slices of nectarines/peaches etc.

* Bake for 15 minutes or until puffed and golden

6 thoughts on “Summer Peach Cakes

Leave a Reply

