A milestone not listed in any baby record books

Yesterday I had what may possibly be my best parenting moment yet (asides from bringing both of the boys home from hospital of course).

Our first cuddle - 5 days old

Our first cuddle – 5 days old

Drumroll……   Liam said ‘love you Mum’.  Ok, so maybe it sounded a little more like ‘ruv you mum’ – but I’m going with it.  To say that my heart melted would be an understatement, I was so overcome by emotion it sent a shiver through me. Initially I wasn’t sure if I had heard him right, and asked him to say it again just to be sure (and I just wanted to hear it again!), and there it was –  I was right.

After a week of illness and a suspected case of the measles (thankfully the test was negative), hearing these three beautiful words nearly bought me to tears.

Once again I am reminded of just how special my little boy is, and that I don’t think I could love him anymore if I tried.

Enjoying some Mummy & Liam cuddles before Aiden was born

Enjoying some Mummy & Liam cuddles before Aiden was born

What has been your best parenting moment?

Happy Saturday everyone x

12 thoughts on “A milestone not listed in any baby record books

  1. Your next step is to get him to say it on video!!! We had a great time showing Greg & Lorraine the tapes of 2yo Cameron saying, “I love bab-ba” (Grandpa) & “I love bam-ma” and generally being a little clown. Watching these 8 years later, and it still melts my heart and probably always wil xxx

    • Oooh, that’s a great idea! He is a show off in front of the camera so hopefully it won’t be too much of a problem! How special to have those videos of Cameron, no doubt Greg & Lorraine loved it! xx

  2. Yep have to agree. Hearing those words is up there in our top moments. Indi has even started saying it when she is getting growled at…. hard to growl when she says that lol.
    Well done liam. You are a superstar.

  3. Gabe is nearly 4 and its now about whether he “likes” us or not. Never thought to record first I love you moment. .. good thinking momma.

Leave a Reply

