Fruit Crumble

I think I’m a pretty awesome wife – and humble I know!! Tonight I decided to surprise Scott with a midweek after dinner treat.  He is also looking after both the boys during the peak of witching hour whilst I go to the gym, so he deserves a big reward!  He has been on a bit of a health kick recently (to the point where he knocked back the pizza lunch at work for Melbourne Cup yesterday), so I knew he would want to keep things pretty healthy.  I decided to make a fruit dessert, there were a couple of apples & pears in the fruit bowl, and Liam had some leftover strawberries and peaches from his afternoon tea.  I like a crunchy top, so I added some chopped almonds to the oats.  For easy serving, I divided the mixture into four ramekins, if you prefer you could put it all into one dish.

Liam and I have shared one already, we added vanilla yoghurt to ours and we both really enjoyed it.  Scott isn’t home yet, so I haven’t gotten feedback from my toughest critic yet… if this doest cement my place as wife of the year, I don’t know what will!!

Fruity Goodness x

Fruity Goodness x

This is what I used – but you could just use any fruits you have

2 apples

2 pears

6 strawberries

1/2 tub diced peaches

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup rolled oats

2 dessertspoons malted rice syrup

2 tbsp shredded coconut

50g almonds chopped

* Preheat oven to 190 degrees

* Chop apple and pear into small pieces,add 2 tbsp water and cinnamon and cook in microwave on high for 2 minutes

* In a separate bowl, combine rolled oats, coconut, almonds & malted rice syrup and mix together.

* Drain excess water from apples & pears, add peaches and strawberries and mix together

* Divide fruit mixture amongst 4 ramekins (or one dish if preferred) and top with oat mixture

* Place in oven for approx 10 minutes, or until top begins to turn golden

* Allow to cool slightly and serve!!

Leave a Reply

