To my sister

To my Sister,

It’s been so much harder to come home after my last visit than in the past. After spending five days together, our first time together both as Mothers, it has made me appreciate the special relationship that we have all the more.  We’ve been through a lot together over the years.  Yes, we haven’t always gotten along (there was a lot of arguing when we were kids!), but as we’ve gotten older I feel the dynamic of our relationship has changed from that of siblings to best friends.

sisters

You have been the one that I have always turned to first for comfort and advice during the roller coaster that has been the past five years.  Your support and compassion has always been unwavering, and you have been my greatest cheerleader as well as ‘keeping it real’ when needed.

Now that you are embarking on your journey into motherhood, I can only hope that I can provide you with some of the support that you have so selflessly given me.  Watching your face light up with love every time you look at your precious little man (even when he is having his crazy time) brings me so much happiness.

It’s a tough gig being a mum, especially in those early weeks and months.  It can all feel like a blur of crying/nappies/feeding/clothing changes (both yours and bubs)/ pumping… the list goes on.  On top of that you are also adjusting to having a new little person in your life amidst an influx of visitors, appointments, and the never ending advice everyone feels like they should give you…  all whilst you are physically and emotionally recovering from the birth!

I know you sometimes have your doubts about what you are doing/what you are meant to be doing – and believe me everyone does, but as we’ve talked and laughed about before, no matter what we do there is always going to be someone out there who thinks we are wrong (and maybe a little crazy too).

It’s not always going to be easy, and you may ask yourself what you have gotten into, the best advice I can give you when it feels like this is to sit down, cuddle and stare at your little man.  Just absorb every tiny detail of his face, his tiny little fingers and his smile.  It’s not always going to be this way, in just a few short months you will look back in amazement at how quickly the time has gone, and how big your little man has become.

I will always be there for you – even if it’s just for a rant during the middle of the night. And remember when you are up for the fourth time in one night, or you are sleeping in the lounge room on the recliner – you are an awesome Mum….. just like I knew you always would be.

xx

DSC_0924

Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT

18 thoughts on “To my sister

  1. What lovely words to write to your sister. I’m the eldest of five and have three sisters. We used to fight quite a bit when we were little but you’re right, the dynamics change and they are now my very best friends. Min xo

  2. I love hearing about sisters. I have three daughters and sometimes they are just so horrible to each other, and all I really really want is for them to grow up to be friends.
    Just tonight the 7yo wouldn’t share the computer and so the 9yo pinched her and there was a god almighty fight with screaming and the works.
    We work the line that at the end of the day, family is all you’ve got, and you have to love and take care of each other.
    Sending you and your sister love

    • Thank you for your lovely comments. My sister and I were similar when we were growing up. There were a lot of fights and arguing, it wasn’t until we got older (I say it was when I got my license and could start driving her around!) that we really started to become much closer and now we are best friends.
      Best wishes to you and your family xx

Leave a Reply

