What’s next?

We met with a financial planner last week who put the questions to us – where do we see ourselves in 5, 10 and 20 years? From a financial perspective we were able to rattle off a plan… but from a personal perspective I was stumped.

This is a strange feeling for me.  I will admit I may have some control issues (ok, if  you were to ask Scott he will say I have a LOT of control issues), and in the past I have always needed to have a plan – whether it be in regards to career, health, financial or personal goals.  Generally I have been able to achieve most of these goals – albeit some have taken longer than others, and have taken a greater toll on me personally than expected.

To be honest, I’m exhausted…  Our five year journey to start a family has been tough.  Now that we have ‘achieved’ this (hmm, there is probably a better word than this?), we haven’t really thought about ‘what’s next’??? In fact, does there have to be a what’s next?  It seems as though we are expected to have plan in place – we are asked if/when we will have another baby (seriously I was asked this by a midwife when Aiden was less than 24hrs old and in NICU), when am I going back to work, what school are the boys going to, when are we going to toilet train Liam, when are we planning a trip to visit family…. and the list goes on!

It seems to be a constant question throughout life – when you start a relationship it’s’when are you moving in together’? Once you are living together – ‘When are you getting engaged’…. ‘When are you getting married? When are you having kids? When are you having another baby??  and so it goes on.

Is it a ‘bad’ thing to just stop and enjoy life for a little while without having a plan in place for our next life goal?

I’m making the decision to enjoy our family and life right now.  Instead of worrying myself about what I should or could be doing, or what I need to do next, I am going to give myself some ‘time off’ and LIVE life for awhile.

What do you think, do we always need to have a plan?

Let's stop and enjoy the view

Let’s stop and enjoy the view

Linking up with the Essentially Jess for IBOT

16 thoughts on “What’s next?

  1. I had the same attitude when my kids were babies/toddlers. There wasn’t much choice but to be the in here and now for them. Now that they are a little older and a little easier to manage its time to start planning again – or trying to.

    • Thank you, it’s comforting to know there are others out there who felt the same way. I’m sure once we are out of the initial baby/toddler phase (my youngest is 5mths) things will change x

  2. As much as I like to plan I have never planned my future big picture. I live or now and trust life will turn out as it is supposed to. Enjoy your life!!! Deb xx

  3. I don’t really like financial planners. And I generally think this question which they always ask is a loaded one. From a financial perspective, of COURSE everyone wants to have more money and more savings, be secure and comfortable in 5, 10, 20 years. But from a personal standpoint, does it really matter? Each one’s life journey can take us anywhere and have many unexpected twists and turns. I think having a big picture plan is important so you and your hubby/partner are walking in alignment and in the same direction. But in the meantime, I agree what life simply needs to be LIVED.

  4. Yeah I don’t really have any “plans” at the moment either, except to enjoy life. We have some vague goals/ideas to do some travelling in the next few years but it’s not written in stone.

    Visiting from Team IBOT xxx

  5. You have just reminded me of the time my Husband made me a 10 year plan – God it was depressing but also hilarious! I stuck it on the side of the fridge for a laugh. Personally I am a live in the moment type (maybe that’s why I have six kids)! If I stopped to plan any part of my life I would go nuts! I like being a free spirit and taking what comes. Plans scare me!

  6. Yeah the questions don’t stop!
    I think I’m somewhere in the middle. I think it’s ok to plan to just enjoy this season of life, whilst also having some direction about what is coming next.
    I’m struggling a little at the moment, cause we don’t have any kind of clarity in that area.

    • They sure don’t stop! I find it interesting that people (often total strangers) feel they can ask such personal questions. I hope you find the direction you are looking for x

Leave a Reply

