Arrgh… It’s another packet mix!

I’ve sure started something now! After my success making Adriano Zumbo’s Salted Caramel Macarons, I took up the Betty Crocker Facebook Challenge to make her Chocolate Fudge Cake using only the materials from the box – the winner will have their cake featured on the side of the box.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

I must admit, my entry was a bit rushed.  I would have loved to have had more chocolate icing to play with, as I wanted to ice the middle as well as the top of the cake.  Unfortunately I just ended up with a super thin layer in the middle and not as much icing as I would have liked on the top.  I was planning to take the cake to a morning tea, so I prettied it up with chocolate freckles and vanilla frosting.

Very plain :(

Very plain 😦

I resisted the urge to taste this cake, by all accounts though, it tasted great and when I halved the cake, I could tell it was really moist.

Would I make it again?  Not sure… One of the main reasons I bake is for the ‘experience’. I find it relaxing and I really enjoy creating beautiful and delicious goodies (well at least I hope they are!).  I still enjoyed making it, but the ‘baking experience’ was over so quickly. At least with the Zumbo mixes, there is a little more involved.  I’m now thinking I may have to work my way through the rest of the Adriano Zumbo mixes available….

choc fudge cake

3 thoughts on “Arrgh… It’s another packet mix!

  1. Oh absolutely!! I couldn’t agree more!!! And yes I was exactly the same as you… I really would have liked to have frosted the middle, but it wasn’t to be! Interesting challenge though! 🙂 Lucy

  2. Pingback: Milk Chocolate Mousse Tart | createbakemake

Leave a Reply

