Salted Caramel Macarons

When it comes to packaged foods/mixes I am a bit of a snob.  I think it goes back to when we were kids and Mum and Nan would always say ‘packet mix’ cake/biscuits/meals were never as good as the real thing.

When looking through my sister’s pantry, I came across a ‘packet mix’ for vanilla cupcakes, and to be honest, they looked really good! As she is one of the least domesticated people I know, I offered to make them for her, until I noticed the expiry date was two years ago.

This then inspired me to checkout the packaged goodies at the supermarket earlier this week.  It was a strange feeling, I actually felt guilty standing in front of them, and could hear Mum and Nan commenting already!

The ones that caught my eye were by Adriano Zumbo. Like many people, I was introduced to him and his crazy recipes through MasterChef. I can remember watching the contestants attempting to construct his macaron tower and thinking it was an impossible task – especially since I have never made macarons!  Spying a box for ‘Salted Caramel Macarons’ I made the decision to take the plunge.

The dreaded 'packet mix'

The dreaded ‘packet mix’

These were SUPER easy!  I’d also like to think my years of watching MasterChef have paid off.  Whilst the instructions were excellent, I remembered it was important to let them sit before putting into the oven and to not over mix.  The template was a great idea, and I was so proud when an army of perfect little domes came out of the oven.  He suggest cooking time of 14 – 18 minutes, I found 14 minutes was plenty of time in my oven.

Adriano also says the addition of sea salt to the caramel is optional….  I went for it and am so glad I did.  Even Scott my toughest critic was impressed!  The mixture made around 22 complete macarons. I would have had a couple more, except a little boy I know stole a couple from the tray whilst I was distracted feeding his brother – when a toddler goes quiet, you just know something bad is going down…..  They were so good that I even broke my ‘one piece rule’ and went back for a second!!  Now my next challenge will be making them from scratch….

These are fantastic - so happy with the result

These are fantastic – so happy with the result

2 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Macarons

Leave a Reply

