Polka Dot Cookies

Hello, my name is Lauren and I am addicted to food magazines.  I have a huge pile of magazines and recipes that I just can’t bear to part with. Slowly I have tried to cull the number I have hoarded away, as soon as I get rid of them, they are replaced by more.  I was tackling this never ending project earlier in the week, and came across this recipe that I had pulled out of a magazine (I have no idea which one it may have come from).  I used M&M’s which I think are better than smarties anyway.  The pack I had was just enough to decorate all of the cookies and leave a few leftover for me.  The original recipe is double what I have put below, the half serving made around 36 cookies which is more than enough for morning tea!

The last time I made these was before we were married, so at least five years ago – and they are just as good as I remembered!

These are GREAT!

These are GREAT!

2 cups of self raising flour – sifted

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 cup malted milk powder

150g melted unsalted butter – slightly cooled

2 eggs lightly beaten

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

180g pack of smarties – or M&M’s

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees (160 if fan forced) and line two trays with baking paper.
  • Combine flour, sugar and malted milk powder in a bowl and stir to combine.
  • Make a well in the centre and add eggs, vanilla extract and butter and mix together
  • Using a tablespoon of mixture, roll into balls, flatten slightly and place on tray approx 4cm apart. Press smarties/M&M’s into top of cookies
  • Bake for 8 – 9 minutes and swap trays halfway through
  • Stand on trays for 1 minute before transferring to wire rack to cool

3 thoughts on “Polka Dot Cookies

  1. Pingback: Choc Pretzel and Peanut Butter Slice | createbakemake

Leave a Reply

