Lemon and Almond Cake

Ok, I will admit I didn’t read through the whole page this recipe was on before I started making it.  The title hooked me, I love almond cake and my sister loves lemon cake… perfect!

When I finally read through the whole thing, and the suggestion to wrap the cake in foil and leave it for a couple of days before actually eating it, I was annoyed..  When I make a cake, I want to be able to eat it NOW – maybe this impatience is the Gen Y in me coming out?

As much as it pained me to do it, once the cake was cooled, I carefully wrapped it in a couple of layers of foil and left it for two days before we tasted it.

The lemon flavour was quite intense – paired with some fresh strawberries and sprinkled with icing sugar it was really nice, and not too tart. It is a really moist and dense cake (hence the name ‘Damp Lemon & Almond Cake’ I guess),  and the texture reminded me of the Coffee Club’s Orange and Almond loaf which is one of my all time favourites.  I will make this again, just to substitute the lemon for oranges.

This cake is perfect to make on a Friday afternoon & then enjoy on a lazy Sunday.

Damp Lemon & Almond Cake copy

Nigella Lawson’s Damp Lemon & Almond Cake (from How to be a Domestic Goddess)

225g soft unsalted butter

225g caster sugar

4 large eggs

50g plain flour

225g ground almonds

1/2 teaspoon almond essence

grated zest and juice of 2 lemons

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees
  • Cream butter and sugar until almost white.
  • Beat in the eggs, one at a time, adding a quarter of the flour after each addition
  • When all eggs and flour have been added, stir in the ground almonds, then the almond essence, lemon juice and zest.
  • Pour mixture into 21-23cm springform cake tin (lined on the bottom) and bake for approximately one hour.  Check after 30 minutes and if it’s browning too quickly cover the top with foil.
  • Cool in tin for 5 minutes, and then remove onto a wire rack
  • Once cool, wrap well in foil for a couple of days before eating.

3 thoughts on “Lemon and Almond Cake

  1. Pingback: Orange cake orgasm | Gluten Free Advice Perth

Leave a Reply

