Easy Pancakes

Does anyone know why the first pancake you make NEVER turns out properly?  Or is it just me?  EVERY time I make pancakes, the first one is always a dud, whether it has a dodgy colour, doesn’t flip properly or it is a weird shape.

I decided to make pancakes for dessert last night, it was really a last minute decision and they were quickly made from memory (below is the recipe I used).

We kept the accompaniments pretty simple – strawberry jam and golden syrup and raspberries.  When I was younger (ok and I admit I still do now), I would top mine with Mum’s homemade apricot jam and whipped cream and then roll them up to eat.

They turned out well, the mixture was a bit thicker than what I normally make, but they were still quite light and very fluffy.  I’m curious to compare the below ‘memorised’ recipe to the original when I get home.

 

Pancakes

 

1 1/2 cups milk

1 egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups self raising flour

1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1/3 cup caster sugar

25g butter – to add to pan when cooking

  • Whisk milk, egg and vanilla together.
  • Sift flour and bicarb soda into a bowl and stir through the sugar.
  • Making a well in the centre, pour in the milk mixture and whisk until combined
  • Heat a non stick frying pan on medium heat and brush with butter.
  • Add mixture, using 1/4 cup to measure out and cook for approx 3 minutes, or  until bubbles appear on surface.
  • Flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes or until cooked through
  • Transfer to a plate and cover with foil to keep warm.
  • Repeat, adding butter to frypan after each pancake is cooked.
I can't turn my back for a minute! At least it's the raspberries he is going for!

I can’t turn my back for a minute! At least it’s the raspberries he is going for!

Leave a Reply

