Caramel Chip Cookies

While I was at the local Woolies the other day (replacing the ingredients I have been using from Mum’s cupboard!), I came across ‘Caramel Bits’ by Nestle.  I have seen them a couple of times before, but usually when I’m doing the grocery shopping I don’t have the luxury of spending time looking different products.

Impulse buy

Impulse buy

On an impulse I grabbed a bag, thinking I could substitute them for chocolate chips in another recipe – admittedly I was thinking of adding them to brownies since they are my latest obsession.  Normally I don’t pay attention to the recipes on the back of bags/containers etc, for some reason I am a snob and think they will be rubbish – this time I thought I would give it a go.

It’s a very straightforward recipe and method, trying a couple of the caramel chips on their own, I found them to be very sweet and was concerned how the cookies were going to turn out.  In the end the cookies were pretty good. Quite plain, and if I was to make them again I would add some nuts to them – maybe pecans or walnuts? Even coconut would be a good addition.  The family thought they were good, and as always my little helper Liam tried one and liked it.

Overall, I was happy with them and will try not to be such a recipe snob in the future!

125g butter softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 3/4 cups self raising flour – sifted

250g caramel bits

  • Preheat oven to 170 degrees and grease and line 2 baking trays with baking paper
  • Place butter, brown sugar, and egg in bowl of an electric mixer, beat until mixture is pale and creamy
  • Stir in flour, add caramel bits and mix until well combined
  • Roll level tablespoons of mixture into balls, place on prepared trays about 4cm apart and flatten slightly.
  • Bake in oven for 15 minutes or until golden.
  • Set aside on trays for 5 minutes to cool and then transfer onto wire rack to cool completely

caramel chip cookies

Leave a Reply

