Throwback Thursday – Peanut Butter Scrolls

I chose this recipe as I thought it was an odd combination of ingredients and I was curious as to how it would work. My attention was also grabbed by the ‘Economical’ comment next to the recipe heading. They turned out better than expected, and were also a hit with my two biggest critics Scott and Liam.

Please click here for link to metric conversion table

Original Recipe

Original Recipe

Peanut Scrolls

6 oz (1 1/2 teacups) self raising flour

1/4 teaspoon of salt

2 oz butter or margarine

2 tablespoon of sugar

3 tablespoons of milk

Peanut Butter – no amount specified

2 oz raisins

  • Sift flour and salt.
  • Rub in butter and 1 dessertspoon of peanut butter.
  • Add sugar, mix into a firm dough with the milk (I found it easiest to use my hands towards the end)
  • Roll out thinly, between two sheets of baking paper into an oblong shape
  • Spread with peanut butter
Peanut Butter - yum

Peanut Butter – yum

  • Cut raisins into small pieces and sprinkle over
  • Roll up tightly, wrap in glad wrap and put in fridge or freezer until firm
My roll looked a bit dodgy

My roll looked a bit dodgy

  • Cut into thin slices
The dough should be quite firm to cut through

The dough should be quite firm to cut through

  • Place onto greased tray and bake in a moderate over for 10 – 15 minutes (I baked these for 12 minutes on 160 degrees in a fan forced oven).
Enjoy!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday – Peanut Butter Scrolls

Leave a Reply

