Inspiration for the weekend – Orange and Blueberry Cake

A few months back I turned 30 – I’m still coming to terms with it! I thought it was about time I ramped up my anti ageing efforts so a couple of weeks ago I went out and bought some super dooper (and expensive) eye cream.  Fast forward to three days later and my cheeks/under my eyes were red, dry and puffy,  so last weekend I was back at Myer to return it.  It was perfect timing as Myer had a one day sale with 40% all full priced books, so I took the opportunity to buy ‘Baking’ by Australian cooking royalty – Margaret Fulton, and also ‘How to be a Domestic Goddess’ by Nigella Lawson.

Margaret Fulton - Australian Baking Royalty

Margaret Fulton – Australian Baking Royalty

I’m slowly reading through ‘Baking’ and there are so many recipes that I want to try.  It has all the old favourites (tea cake, self saucing chocolate pudding etc) as well as recipes from around the world such as Bienenstich (honey flavoured bee sting cake from Germany) and Danish Raspberry Shortcake.

I thought I’d try  the orange and blueberry cake, as Mum had all the ingredients.  Whilst the cake tasted great, and Mum’s work colleagues were happy to devour the leftovers the next day, I was a little dissapointed that the blueberries all sank to the bottom, and I had to add another 15 minutes to the cooking time , but will put this down to being unfamiliar with Mum’s oven.

2 cups self raising flour sifted

1 1/3 caster sugar

2 eggs lightly beaten

3/4 cup milk

grated rind and juice of 1 orange

130g butter melted

200g fresh or frozen blueberries (I used frozen)

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees and grease a deep 22cm loose based flan tin or cake tine
  • Combine the flour and sugar in a large bowl
  • Add the eggs, milk, rind, juice and butter and mix until combined
  • Spoon into the prepared tin
  • Top with half of the blueberries and bake for 20 minutes
  • Sprinkle over the remaining blueberries and bake for another 20 minutes
  • Cool in the tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool
Orange & Blueberry Cake

Orange & Blueberry Cake

One thought on “Inspiration for the weekend – Orange and Blueberry Cake

Leave a Reply

