Throwback Thursday – McAlpin’s Sponge Sandwich

Even though I love to bake, I don’t seem to make a lot of sponges.  We had a heap of strawberries in the fridge and some cream, so I thought I’d give the McAlpins Sponge Sandwich a try.  The tins I used were a bigger than those suggested, so my sponges were a bit thin. I was happy with how they turned out. The colour was good and they had both risen evenly.  I cooked them on the same rack in the oven, which I’m not sure if you are supposed to do?To compensate for their height, I just put a thick layer of cream and strawberries in the middle which improved the overall appearance of the cake.

I didn’t get to try a piece, Scott took it to work the next day.  He said it went down well, but suggested adding a layer of strawberry jam to the cream and strawberry layer.. He is my biggest critic & always seems to have a suggestion on how I can improve!

Original Recipe

Original Recipe

Please click here for metric conversation table

McAlpins Sponge Sandwich

4 oz and 1 slightly rounded tablespoon of self raising flour

Pinch of salt

4 oz sugar

3 eggs

2 tablespoons of hot milk or water (I used hot milk)

600ml of thickened cream

1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla essence

2 tablespoons of icing sugar

250g strawberries

  • Sift flour and salt
  • Separate whites and yolks of eggs
  • Place whites in a warm dry basin with a pinch of salt and beat until very stiff, then beat yolks in lightly (low mixer speed)
  • Add sugar and beat until sugar is dissolved and mixture is quite thick
  • Sift flour onto mixture and fold lightly through with a knife or a tablespoon
  • Fold in 2 tablespoons of hot milk or water
  • Divide mixture evenly between two 7 – 71/2 inch greased sandwich tins.
  • Bake in a very moderate oven for 15 – 18 minutes (I baked for 15 minutes in a 180 degree fan forced oven).
  • When cooked, turn cake onto a care wire covered with a cloth
  • Whip cream, vanilla essence and icing sugar together
  • Cut strawberries into thin slices
  • Once cake has cooled, spread cream on top of one cake, and cover with half the strawberries
  • Spread remaining cream and strawberries on top of cake – serve
Enjoy!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – McAlpin’s Sponge Sandwich

Leave a Reply

