Chocolate Chip, Date & Coconut Lactation Cookies

I had never tried lactation biscuits before having Aiden.  Whilst googling random things during a night feed, I came across ‘low fat’ biscuit recipes on the Lose Baby Weight website.  I have since made a few batches and have added a couple of ingredients and make my cookies smaller (usually getting between 36 – 48 cookies), so I am unsure of the nutritional content.

I snack on these during the afternoon to help boost my milk supply during the early evening when it seems to be at it’s lowest.  A batch usually last up to a week (my husband won’t eat them as he thinks they will make him start lactating!), and I think they have helped my supply – or I may just be telling myself that they are!

 

1 1/2 Cups of Rolled Oats

3/4 Cup of Flaxseed (Linseed Meal)

3 Tablespoons of Brewers Yeast – I use 4 x 5g sachets of brewers yeast

1/2 Cup of Unsweetened Applesauce

1/3 Cup of Maple Syrup – I substitute for Golden Syrup as it’s cheaper

1/4 Cup of Light Oil

1 small Egg

1 Teaspoon of Vanilla Extract

1/2 Teaspoon of Baking Soda

1/2 Teaspoon of Ground Cinnamon

1/2 Cup of Chocolate Chips – I use Cadbury dark chocolate chips… yummo!

8 -12 Pitted Dates chopped up

1/2 Cup of Coconut

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees (Fan Forced)
  • Line 2 trays with Baking Paper
  • Combine Apple Sauce, Maple Syrup, Oil, Egg and Vanilla Extract and whisk until smooth.
  • Stir in Oats, Flaxseed, Brewers Yeast, Baking Soda, Coconut and Cinnamon until combined
  • Fold in Chocolate Chips and Dates.

IMG_6969

  • Lightly roll teaspoon sized balls of mixture and place on tray – flatten slightly with a fork
  • Bake for 12 – 14 minutes until starting to turn golden brown

I’d love to hear any other lactation cookie recipes that you may have – preferably ones that work!

Finished Product

Finished Product

Leave a Reply

