Lemon Coconut Cake

When I want to bake with Liam, I always want a simple recipe that doesn’t require too much preparation.  Last week when he was in a good mood and I wanted to use up a container of sour cream that was sitting in the fridge,  I turned to my trusty Donna Hay ‘Fast, Fresh and Simple’ book & found a recipe for lemon yoghurt cake which Iooked like it would fit the bill.

My little helper

My little helper

I’ve written out the actual recipe from the book and have added the adjustments I made, due to not have all of the ingredients.

My version turned out lovely and moist.  Instead of using lemon frosting, I made a simple plain icing which worked well.

 

3/4 cup vegetable oil (replaced with 3/4 cup of light virgin olive oil)

2 eggs

1 tablespoons finely grated lemon rind

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 cup thick natural yoghurt (200g of light sour cream and an extra 2 tablespoons of milk)

1 3/4 cups castor sugar

2 cups self raising flour

I also added 1/4 cup of coconut

 

Lemon Frosting

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup lemon juice

 

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  • Place the oil, eggs, rind, lemon juice, yoghurt (sour cream & milk) and sugar in a bowl and whisk to combine.
  • Sift over the flour and add the coconut and stir until smooth
  • Pour the mixture into a greased 24cm fluted ring tin and bake for 35 minutes or until cooked when tested with a skewer
  • While the cake is still hot, remove from the tin and place on plate
  • To make lemon frosting gently stir together the sugar and lemon juice and spoon over cake and allow to set.

 

** You can also just use a plain icing as I did which also works well.

 

Lemony Goodness

Lemony Goodness

2 thoughts on “Lemon Coconut Cake

Leave a Reply

