Nana Doug’s Chocolate Cake

One of the first things I can remember helping mum make is her Nan’s chocolate cake in her trusty old sunbeam mixer (circa early 70s).  The job allocated to my sister and I was the sifting – something I have tried to carry on with my 19 month old with limited success!

30 years later this is still my one of my favourite recipes when I need to make a quick cake.  Nowadays I try to make it a bit healthier – swapping butter for light spread and using skinny milk. Whilst this is still a winner, there is nothing like the original recipe ingredients. All  ingredient amounts are in imperial measurements (I’ve added conversions in brackets).

3oz (85g) butter

2 tablespoons of cocoa

6oz (175g) castor sugar

6oz (175g) self raising Ffour

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoons vanilla essence

1/2 cup of milk

  • Preheat oven to 170 degrees (fan forced oven)
  • Melt Butter and leave to cool slightly
  • Sift Flour and Cocoa into large mixing bowl
  • Add all other ingredients and beat together in mixer (Approx 5 minutes)
  • Grease tin (can use slice tin, loaf tin, 20cm round tin or ring tin)
  • Bake for 25 – 40 minutes, depending on tin used (I baked the cake pictured for 35 minutes in a 20cm round tin).

Chocolate Icing

2 Tablespoons of Cocoa

1/2 Cup of Icing Mixture

1 Teaspoon of Butter/marg

3 – 4 Table spoons of boiling water

  • Place Cocoa, Icing Mixture and Butter/Marg into a small bowl
  • Start by adding 2 tablespoons of boiling water to bowl and mixing together using a spoon
  • Continue to add water until desired consistency is achieved – icing should still be thick enough to easily spread over cake without running everywhere

** This cake can be frozen, I’ve even frozen it before when iced and it has defrosted well.

Yummy Chocolate Cake

Yummy Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

